Changde Poem Wall is a 3-kilometer-long anti-flood dyke alongside the Yuanjiang River, which is engraved with poems, calligraphy and painting. Thus, it is listed as the longest wall with engraved arts in Guinness Book of World Record.There are art works from many famous Chinese artists and outstanding figures like Mao Zedong, Qi Baishi and so on.The Poem Wall is a large-scale cultural project with distinct artistic characteristics.Facing the river, the Wall is grand and imposing with the embellishment of towers. A total of 1,267 poems about Changde or noted poems at home or abroad have been selected and engraved on the wall. They fall into six chapters, Changes in Changde over Centuries, Celebrities’ Inscriptions on Changde, Beautiful Natural Scenery in Changde, Outstanding Natives and Local Customs, Big Events of China, and Great Poems from Other Countries.They are written in regular script, running hand, official script, seal character and cursive script in Chinese calligraphy by 948 calligraphers from mainland China, as well as Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan, with 43 stone-wall carvings embedded.The name of the Wall and the titles of chapters are inscribed by well-known modern calligraphers, Zhao Puchu, Shen Peng, Qi Gong, Yan Jialong, Sun Qifeng, Wang Xuezhong, Xiao Xian, Zhang Ding, Zang Kejia, Fang Yi and Chen Tianran. The late artists Cao Yu, Shu Tong and Wu Zuoren have also left their mark there.With rich cultural meaning, positive ideological content and exquisite art, Changde Poem Wall draws visitors throughout the country. It is considered by the modern circles of poetry, calligraphy and painting to be unique in these fields and unique in China. It is regarded by Yu Guangzhong, a noted scholar from Taiwan, as “a Great Wall in the Poetry World”, and “a History Book of Literature”.
Changde & Yueyang & Hengyang
Watched from the Peak of Mount Yuelu, Orange Isle is like a black silk ribbon lying in the middle of the river and like a dark yellowish green barrier while seen in the river bank.As the world\'s longest inland river isle, Orange Isle connects the Mount Yuelu in the west and the downtown in the east, with a length of 5km and a width of 50-200 meters and a total area of 70kms. Orange Isle comprises three nearly-connected isles: upper isle, middle isle and lower isle. The upper isle is called Ox-head Isle and middle isle Land-and-water Isle, while the lower isle is called Fujia Isle. Orange Isle referred to at present includes Ox-head Isle and Land-and-water Isle.The isle has been a popular site for summer vacation for a long time. During his youth, Mao Zedong spent a lot of time walking on the beach, swimming and sunbathing. There is also a grand white marble monument, on which there are two seal cuttings: four Chinese characters Ju Zi Zhou Tou (Orange Isle) and a classical Chinese poem QinYuan Chun-Changsha, both of which are Mao Zedong\'s works.Orange Isle Park was originally set up in 1960 for entertainment and service and today the island is under construction to be a more attractive sightseeing destination, which will integrate gardening, traveling, entertainment, sports, culture and commerce. In the plan, the area will be divided into Two Corridors and Seven Garden: Hunan Culture Corridor, On-water Amusement Corridor, Orange Garden, Garden of the Nature, Park of Harmonious Guests, Plaza of Shopping and Foods, GYM Center, Relaxation Resort and Wildlife Park. And an even more beautiful Orange Isle will surely bring more pleasure to every tourist.Transport: Bus Nos.18 and 317 in ChangshaTel: (86)731-88825011Source: Hunan Official Web Portal
Changsha & Zhuzhou & Xiangtan
Yuelu Academy, one of the four greatest academies in ancient China, is situated at the foot of Yuelu Mountain. Yuelu Academy began to run more than 1,000 years ago. It was operated by monks in its earlier period. In 976 AD, Zhu Dong, a prefect of Tanzhou(ancient name of Changsha), took over the administrative power and handed it to the Confucian scholars. Henceforth, for more than one thousand years, Yuelu Academy has been a divine spot for Confucianism education and a center of culture and literature. Yuelu Academy mainly comprises the Main Gate, the Lecture Hall, Lushan Temple Tablet, Yushu Library, Wenchang Pavilion, Six Gentleman Hall, Ten-sacrificial-vessels Hall, Grand Sunlight Platform, the Banxue Building, the Hexi Platform, etc. The words Yue Lu Shu Yuan (Yuelu Academy) on the horizontal board of the Main Gate were inscriptions of Zhenzong, an Emperor of the Song Dynasty (960AD-1279AD). From then on, Yuelu Academy became well-known all around the country and students came to study in an endless stream. On the door posts of the gate are couplets which read Wei Chu You Cai, Yu Si Wei Sheng (the Kingdom of Chu, the unique home of talents; the Academy of Yuelu, the very cradle of all). This couplet originates from Chinese classics and it is very appropriate given the fact that talents have been brought up continuously by the Academy since its establishment. The Lecture Hall, also called a \\\"Hall of Loyalty, Filial Piety, Integraty and Chastity\\\", is a core building of the Academy. Located at the heart of the Academy, the Lecture Hall is the most important place for teaching and momentous ceremony. In the 6th year of Qiandao Reign (1168 A), Southern Song Dynasty, the famous idealist Zhang Shi and Zhu Xi made a joint lecture here, which was the first joint lecture in the Confucian academies of China. There are also many valuable culture relics of steles in the Lecture Hall. On the inner walls of the hall are engraved four big Chinese Characters- Zhong, Xiao, Lian, Jie (loyalty, piety, honesty and integrity) which were written by the great scholar Zhu Xi. Others such as \\\"Uniform and stand as a mark of respect\\\" written and set by one master of the Qing Dynasty, Ouyang Zhenghuan and the stele \\\"School Regulations\\\" written by master Wang Wenqing of Qing Dynasty are all the important historical materials for the study of the education in China\\\'s Confucian academies. They still have their own enlightening meaning to us nowadays. During a history of more than one thousand years, there have been countless talented students learning here. Especially in the late 19th century and 20th century, it witnessed a great number of patriotic thinkers, politicians, militarists, industrialists and diplomats. In 1903, the academy was converted into an advanced school and was officially renamed Hunan University in 1926. Today, Yuelu Academy, which has undergone restorations, has been listed as a key historical site under the state protection. It still shoulders the responsibility of conducting academic researches and training professionals. Transport: Bus Nos. 202, 913, 902, 305, Lishan special line, Tour line 1st. It takes just about 30 minutes ride to the railway station, and one hour to the airportAdmission (for reference): RMB 30 yuan/adultTel:(86)731-88822316Opening hours: 7:30 - 18:00 (May 1st- October 31st)8:00 - 17:30 (November 1st- April 30th)Source: Hunan Official Web Portal
HOT Changsha & Zhuzhou & Xiangtan
Shaoshan, one of the four major revolutionary memorial lands of China, has been well known in the world because of Mao Zedong, a great leader of China. With fascinating scenery, Shaoshan Scenic and Historic Interest Area is mainly composed of Former Residence of Mao Zedong, Shaofeng Peak, Dishui Cave, Qingxi and Heishizhai scenic areas.Former Residence of Mao ZedongThe Former Residence of Mao Zedong is one of the national AAAA scenic spots. The residence named Shangwuchang, is located in a valley which is well landscaped. The house that faces the south was built with adobe and grey tile- roofed. It is of a half-timbered structure, and used to be a normal farmer house in the south of China. In the front there are rice fields and pools, in the back there is a hill with diverse trees, on the left there is a vegetable field and on the right there are vegetable fields, rice fields and grain-sunning ground. It covers a land area of 566.39 square meters, with 20 rooms. The east part of the residence with 14 rooms belonged to Mao\\\'s family, whilst the west part with 5 rooms belonged to his neighbors, and the living room was shared by the two families. Mao Zedong was born here on Dec. 26, 1893. He spent his childhood and boyhood here. In the fall of 1910 he left this village for study. After he joined the revolution, Mao Zedong returned ShaoShan for 5 times, for the purpose of revolution, inspecting or visiting his villagers. In 1966 he came here for the last time and spent the time in Dishui Cave (Dripping Water Cave). This residence was destructed in 1929 by Kuomintang, after 1950 its original appearance was recovered. In April, 1961, this former residence was announced by the State Council as a Key National Historical Reservation Unit, and then in 1982 its name was changed to Former Residence from Original Residence. Now all the rooms have been renovated to be their original appearance and layouts: their bedrooms (Mao, his parents and his two brothers\\\'), the living room, kitchen and other rooms. The historical relics include: the furniture in Mao\\\'s bedroom and his parents\\\' bedroom (bed, wardrobe, desks, stool and chair), the jar and cupboard in the kitchen, stone grinder, man-driven irrigation tool and the harrow in the Farm Implements Room, the rice pestle and man-driven blower for rice in the Pestle Room.
HOT Changsha & Zhuzhou & Xiangtan
The name Mount Yuelu is related to a famous line from the book\" Story of Nanyue\" written by Liu Song of the Southern and Northern Dynasties (420AD-589AD). The line reads eight hundred square meters around Nanyue, the head is Huiyan and the foot is Yuelu. And the mountain was ever since called Mount Yuelu. As an extended part of the mysterious Mount Hengshan range, Mount Yuelu covers a total area of 8 square kilometers with its highest peak 297 meters above sea level. There are also many peaks with exuberant trees and reclusive and precipitous mountain streams.Except for the beautiful natural sceneries, Mount Yuelu is also dotted with lots of famous places and ancient relics since Western Han Dynasty(206BC-25AD), such as Aiwan Pavilion, Lushan Temple, Wangxiang Pavilion, Lushan Temple Stele of Liyong (678AD-747AD) in Tang Dynasty, and the Monument to Emperor Yu carved in Song Dynasty, etc. Among the evergreen pines and cypresses also lie Huangxing\'s Tomb which is under state protection, and the Tombs of Cai E and Chen Tianhua, who were both outstanding revolutionists.Aiwan PavilionAs one of the four well-known pavilions in China, Aiwan pavilion is a pavilion of ancient style built in the Qing Dynasty. It is square in form with gilt columns and painted red inside. There are four external beams made with complete stripes of granite. It is constructed with double eaves on top with four slopes. And a spiking treasure bottle is fitted atop. Its four corners stretch away upward, covered with greenish glazed tiles.The original name of Aiwan Pavilion was Hongye Pavilion and the present name is derived from the poem Strolling in the Mountain written by Du Mu (a poet of Tang Dynasty).Aiwan Pavilion is not only a famous scenic spot, but also an important site of treasured memories of the revolutionaries like Mao Zedong, Cai Hesen, and Luo Xuezan.Lushan TempleThe Lushan Temple, also known as Luyuan or Huiguang Temple, built by the monk master Fachong of Zan religion during the Jin Dynasty (265AD-420AD), has a long history of more than 1700 years. The temple was first built in the second year of Renshou during the reign of Emperor Wen of the Sui Dynasty (581AD-618AD) as he gave an imperial edict that a pagoda for Buddhist relics be built. During the 18th year of Kaiyuan under the reign of Emperor Tang Xuanzong, the well-known writer and calligrapher Li Yong wrote \"Lushan Temple\" for the stele, known as San Jue Bei, a stele perfect in such three aspects as literary talent, calligraphy and engraving.Originally, it had a main hall and a rear hall, however, nowadays only the rear hall remains there. The arch gate of the temple is built in the local architectural style and upon it there is a sign bearing the legend \"Ancient Lushan Temple\".It is roofed with yellowish tiles and supported by red columns.The Lushan Temple Stele, a black stone with a round top, is a well-known stele of ancient China. Four Chinese characters of \"Lu Shan Si Bei\"(Lushan Temple Stele) were inscribed on it and the inscription on it contains 1419 Chinese characters which recorded the origins and the development of Buddhist doctrine preaching activities through the period between the establishment of the temple in the Jin Dynasty (265AD-420AD) and the setup of the stele in the Tang Dynasty (618AD-907AD).Transport: Bus Nos. 202, 913, 902, 305, Lishan special line, Tour line 1st. It takes just about 30 minutes ride to the railway station, and one hour to the airportAdmission (for reference): Free of charge nowTel:(86)731-88822316Opening hour: 7:30-18:00 (May 1st-October 31st)8:00-17:30(November 1st-April 30th)Information updated on January 8, 2012: Yuelu Mountain & Orange Isle Scenic Area was successfully upgraded to the sixth national 5A-class scenic area in Hunan Province.In recent years, the CPC Changsha Municipal Committee and the Changsha Municipal People\'s Government have made great efforts in the renovation and environmental treatment of the scenic spot, investing 1.67 billion yuan in upgrading the Orange Isle Scenic Spot and 2.25 billion yuan in Tianma Mountain Scenic Spot for ecological restoration and environmental treatment. Due to the remarkable development and environmental improvement recently, it was successfully upgraded to a national 5A-class tourism area, taking Yuelu Mountain, Orange Isle, Yuelu Academy and Xinmin Institute as a whole. The plate will be conferred at a later date.Source: Hunan Official Web Portal
Changsha & Zhuzhou & Xiangtan
Fantawild Adventure Theme Park was jointly designed and constructed by Fantawild Holdings Inc. Fantawild Adventure will excite and entertain visitors with a large variety of attractions, featuring the high-end technology, along with interactive environment and entertainment attractions.Fantawild Adventure Park is a park that blends modern technology, traditional theme and spectacular attractions, which covers an exceptional pleasure ground. This breakthrough theme park requires a space of 40,000 to 600,000 square meters land and can uniquely modify the park according to the available dimensions. Each theme is masterfully developed to create contemporary amusement and memorable experience.
Changsha & Zhuzhou & Xiangtan
Standing on Yueyang Tower, gazing at picturesque Dongting Lake, visiting ancient architectural cluster in Zhang Guying Village, sailing and picking lotus seeds at Tuanhu Lake, and celebrating dragon boat racing festival in Miluo city, you are welcome to Yueyang.Situated in the northeast of Hunan Province, Yueyang has been famous in China for the picturesque Dongting Lake and gorgeous Yueyang Tower since ancient times.A Bright Pearl Beside the Dongting LakeDongting Lake, which is so vast and mighty that it seems boundless, is like a fancy satin belt encircling the ancient city of Yueyang. In Yueyang Tower, Fan Zhongyan, an outstanding official in Northern Song Dynasty (960-1127), sighed and said: “Be the first to worry about the affairs of the nation and the last to enjoy oneself.\\\\\\\" The tower stands on the ancient city, and looks down at Dongting Lake covered by mist and fog. In the long process of history, Yueyang Tower has attracted numerous literati, where they composed poems and appreciated the fascinating scenery, making the tower a cultural landmark of the city. The Yueyang Tower stands on the west gate of the Yueyang city wall, looking down at the Dongting Lake, facing the Junshan Island in the distance, and linking the Yangtze River to the north and the Xiangjiang River to the south. Standing on the tower, one can gaze at the distant view of the mists and ripples of the Dongting Lake, with boats sailing on the vast lake.The City of Dragon BoatYueyang, also known as the City of Dragon Boat, where Miluo River runs through, is the cradle of dragon boat culture. The event was originated from a piece of Chinese history; which says that on the 5th day of the 5th month of the Chinese lunar calendar in 278 BC, Qu Yuan, the patriotic poet, drowned himself in the Miluo River. In order to commemorate him, Yueyang held 10 consecutive international dragon boat races in the 1980s and 1990s. Since then, the Yueyang International Dragon Boat Festival has been held every year, and these days, more than 100 teams from all over the world participate in the competitions.A Land of Milk and HoneyWith beautiful scenery, pleasant climate, fertile lands and rich products, Yueyang is reputed as the Land Flowing with Milk and Honey.
Changde & Yueyang & Hengyang
Yueyang Miluo River (Miluo Jiang)Area: YueyangKey Words:Yueyang Miluo River (Miluo Jiang)Themes:holiday, culture, folk customs, natural scenerySuitable for: lovers, students, tour palsIntroductionMemory of the Miluo RiverMi-(mì) LUO Jiang-Xiangbei in the Xiangjiang River is the largest tributary in Hunan Province. Mi-water upstream has two sources: derived from the East Xiushui County of Jiangxi Province; west expenditures in the northeast of Hunan Pingjiang Xian Long-Zhang Shan, two tributaries of Pingjiang Xian in the west concourse, the westward into the Miluo City, Lei Rock Hill into Dongting Lake . Miluo River totals a length of 253 km, a basin area of 5,543 square kilometers. Miluo River originates in Xiushui County, Jiangxi Province, and the west flows through the Pingjiang Xian, Miluo City (Mi-water and LUO Jiang-in the county in the concourse), into the Xiangjiang River to Xiangyin County. The trunk stream is 253 km long, the basin area 5,543 sq. miles, the largest tributary in the Xiangjiang River range in Xiangbei.Miluo River has main tributaries such as paper Ma River, the cars on the River, Tung Chung River, and papaya River. Luo water originated from Aupui Township,Yueyang County,southwest flow to Miluo City, with a length of 88 km and the valley area of 595 square kilometers. Chang also known as Mei Xianshui rivers,with a length of 84 km and the valley area of 670 square kilometers.Miluo River is famous for the prominent Qu Yuan. Qu was a Chinese scholar and minister to the King from the southern Chu during the Warring States Period. His works are mostly found in an anthology of poetry known as Chu Ci. His death is traditionally commemorated on the occasion of the Duanwu Festival (端午节/端午節), which is commonly known in English as the Dragon Boat Festival or Double Fifth (fifth day of the fifth month of the traditional Chinese calendar).In 278 BC, learning of the capture of his country\\\'s capital, Ying, by General Bai Qi of the state of Qin, Qu Yuan is said to have written the lengthy poem of lamentation called \\\"Lament for Ying\\\" and later to have waded into the Miluo river in today\\\'s Hunan Province holding a great rock in order to commit ritual suicide as a form of protest against the corruption of the era.Qu Yuan is regarded as the first author of verse in China to have his name associated to his work, since prior to that time, poetic works were not attributed to any specific authors. He is considered to have initiated the so-called sao style of verse, which is named after his work Li Sao, in which he abandoned the classic four-character verses used in poems of Shi Jing and adopted verses with varying lengths. This resulted in poems with more rhythm and latitude in expression. Qu Yuan is also regarded as one of the most prominent figures of Romanticism in Chinese classical literature, and his masterpieces influenced some of the greatest Romanticist poets in Tang Dynasty such as Li Bai.Other than his literary influence, Qu Yuan is also held as the earliest patriot in China\\\'s history. His social idealism and unbending patriotism have served as the model for Chinese intellectuals to this day, particularly following the establishment of new China in 1949. For example, in the 1950s China issued a postage stamp bearing the \\\"likeness\\\" of Qu Yuan.Address: west of Dongting Lake, YueyangTickets: 20 yuanOpening timeFolk customes : Dragon boat races
Changde & Yueyang & Hengyang